VJAMM Committee Members

Current Members of the VJAMM Committee: Kay Brown, Nikki Gilbert, Phyllis Hayashibara, Mae Kakehashi, Arnold Maeda,

Brian Maeda, Alice Stek, Suzanne Thompson, and Emily Winters.


Kay Brown (above center, with Joe Belli, Darren Noriyuki, Emily Winters): artist, Venice Arts Council


Nikki Gilbert (below right, with Bill Rosendahl): Sushi Girl, Venice High School Alumni Association

DSCN6669 Bill Rosendahl, Nikki Gilbert


Phyllis Hayashibara (below right with Scott Pine) : retired Venice High School Social Studies teacher



Mae Kakehashi (below right with sister Mary Nomura): former Manzanar internee



Arnold Maeda (below right with Kim Maeda): former Manzanar internee, Friends of Manzanar



Brian Maeda (below left with Bill Rosendahl): filmmaker, former Manzanar internee, Manzanar Committee



Alice Stek (below right with Emily Winters, Phyllis Hayashibara, Suzanne Thompson): OB-GYN, Venice Peace and Freedom Party

0623151857 Emily, Phyllis, Alice, Suzanne


Suzanne Thompson (below right with Emily Winters): producer, Venice Arts Council, Endangered Art Fund

DSCN6646 Emily Winters, Suzanne Thompson


Emily Winters (below left with Esther Chaing): artist, Venice Arts Council



Emeritus members of the VJAMM Committee


Don Geagan (above left with Bruce Embrey of the Manzanar Committee): Free Venice Beachhead Collective, Venice Peace and Freedom Party


Fred Hoshiyama (below left with Maria): Westside YMCA, Venice Culver JACL (passed away December 30, 2015)

DSCN1063 Fred Hoshiyama and Caretaker Mary


Marc Salvatierra (below): Researcher, Venice Historical Society



Jim Smith (below right with Craig and Laura Ferre) : Free Venice Beachhead Collective



Yosh Tomita (below right with Jennifer Tomita): former Manzanar internee (passed away January 19, 2017)

DSCN0598 Jennifer and Yosh Tomita